Irish Culture Tag

 

St Patricks Day

Today is St Patrick’s Day. That day of the year when we celebrate all things Irish. In honour of the day I tried to find an Irish Book Tag I could do, only to discover that apparently no one has ever done one….or at least not a good one. So I’ve decided to create one myself. However since this is also Reading Ireland Month/Begorrathon (hosted by Cathy at 746 Books and Niall at The Fluff is Raging) which celebrates Irish literature and all aspects of Irish culture I figured why not make this an Irish Culture Tag.

Usual book tag rules apply. Thank whoever nominated you, tag up to 6 other people, and answer the questions below. I’m going to tag everyone currently participating in Reading Ireland Month/Begorathorn.

1.What is you favourite Irish author/book by an Irish author?

There is no beating Roddy Doyle for his Dublin wit, and his ability to deal with serious issues dressed up as light hearted comedy.

roddy doyle

2. Who is your Irish poet or playwright?

I’m going to cheat on this one and give both a poet and a playwright, but you can just give one if you like.

It may be a cliche but I love Yeats, particularly his mid and later stuff. Underneath all his romantic, fairytale nonsense are some excellent poems about life.

My favourite playwright is Sean O’Casey for his ability to capture the lives of ordinary Dubliners.

3. What is your favourite poem or play by that poet/playwright?

My favourite of Yeats poems is undoubtedly The Song of Wandering Aengus, and I love this version recited by Michael Gambon.

For O’Casey it has to be The Plough and the Stars (one of only two plays to ever cause a riot in the Abbey – Ireland’s National Theater).

It’s my rule never to lose me temper till it would be dethrimental to keep it.– The Plough and and Stars, Fluther Good, Act 2

4. Who is your favourite Irish musician/band?

I’ve one big name and one local name for this. Hozier, who has shot to fame over the past few years, and Loah, who I think will make it big in the next few years.

 

5. What is your favourite movie or tv show about/set in Ireland?

It is impossible to look any further than Father Ted. I don’t know of any other TV show which has had such an impact on Irish popular culture.

6. What do you think of when you think of Ireland?

Simple….Home.

Now go forth and celebrate all things Irish.

4 thoughts on “Irish Culture Tag

Leave a Reply

