And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

IMG_0777First, there were ten – a curious assortment of strangers summoned as weekend guests to a private island off the coast of Devon. Their host, an eccentric millionaire unknown to all of them, is nowhere to be found. All that the guests have in common is a wicked past they’re unwilling to reveal – and a secret that will seal their fate. For each has been marked for murder. One by one they fall prey. Before the weekend is out, there will be none. And only the dead are above suspicion.

September 15th was Agatha Christie’s 125th birthday, and as newspapers published articles about one of the best selling authors of all time, I realised I had never read any of her books. When a few friends suggested a buddy read of And Then There Were None, selected by The Guardian readers as her best book, I figured sure why not.

I’m going to admit that when I first starting reading this book, the first thing I thought was “This sounds a lot like an episode of the Simpsons” (turns out it was actually Family Guy who did a parody).

This is a book which really draws you in. The characters themselves aren’t overly interesting (hardly surprising from a book which is plot driven), but the plot is such that it doesn’t matter. We know from early on the ten methods of death. You will find yourself trying to guess in what order they are going to die, and of course who the murder is. If you can work it out, then fair play. It is easy to see reading this why Agatha Christie is the undisputed master of crime fiction.

Rating:

4 star

6 thoughts on “And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

  1. Yup. Undisputed and unparalleled! And then there were none is my second favourite Christie book of all time. I’ve read (not to mention own) over 100 other works of hers, and I find myself going back to them every now and then. You should also check out The Unexpected Guest. Her best according to me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. To be honest, I didn’t really like Agatha Christie. No doubt, she’s a good writer, but the ending to this one seemed a bit iffy and all hero there books seem to be so similar. Although this one is her most famous book, I still think she was a little bit lazy with the ending :\ Thanks for the great review though 🙂 !

    – Paul at The Galaxial Word

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As cliche as it seems, this is one of my favorite Agatha Christie books (and one I let my dad borrow… never to be seen again). Her writing really does pull you in; it’s amazing how she captures readers into her scenarios! One of these days, I think it’d be fun to do an Agatha Christie reading challenge and read all of her books.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

