Top Ten Tuesday: 19th Century Female Authors 101

imagei

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by Broke and Bookish. This week the theme is the ten books you would put on a literature 101 course. The genre can be any genre of your choice.

Now I’m a fan of classics, in particular the female authors of the 19th century. The books I’ve selected are all by some of the best known 19th century female authors and are all books I love (well except for Wuthering Heights but I acknowledge it to be a good book. The works span the 19th century starting with Austens in the Regencey era at the start of the century, through the Brontes and Gaskell in the middle of the century during the rise of Queen Victoria, and ending with George Eliot in the latter half of the century when the Victorian era was in full swing. In different ways they explore the main themes and issues we expect of 19th century literature. Marriage, society, the fallen woman, the poor.

Jane Austen:

image1. Pride and Prejudice

2. Emma

3. Persuasion

The Brontes:

image4. Jane Eyre (Charlotte)

5. Wuthering Heights (Emily)

6. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall (Anne)

Elizabeth Gaskell:

elizabeth gaskell7. North and South

8. Ruth

9. Wives and Daughters

George Eliot:

image10. The Mill on the Floss

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 19th Century Female Authors 101

  1. I like how you picked a book from each Bronte sister, but I agree about Wuthering Heights… It was, how shall I put it, not my favorite. I haven’t read anything from Elizabeth Gaskell, but I think I’ll add her to my list. I’m on a mission to finish Vanity Fair (among other lengthier novels), but I’m curious to read some of her work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I admit, several of these books did not speak to me at all. But they are good literature. Though I think Wide Sargasso Sea should always be paired with Jane Eyre, just to give the madwoman in the attic a few lines.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

