Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling

ChamberofsecretsHarry Potter is a wizard. He is in his second year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Little does he know that this year will be just as eventful as the last…

In between my bookclub commitments for this month I’m trying to continue with some of my own reading challenges and plans, mainly my year long classics challenge, the Austen in August even hosted by Roof Beam Reader and of course my Harry Potter re-read. Last week while waiting for one of my bookclub books from the library I decided to make use of the temporary interval to read Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

Now I’ll be honest, while I love all the Harry Potter books, I don’t love them all equally. If forced to choose I would never selected the Chamber of Secrets as my favourite. It would be nearly tie with the Half Blood Prince as my least favourite, in as much as I have Harry Potters which I like less then others. Both I would also classify as tie over books, used to link either the first of last book with the major action which occurs across books 3 through 5. Both are also books with little action, compared to other books, though both ending with events which will prove crucial to the overall storyline. For all this it’s still a 5 star book.

Mr-and-Mrs-Weasley-arthur-and-molly-weasley-10180677-225-221

There are two elements of the Chamber of Secrets, both in relation to the introduction of new characters. The first is we become better acquainted with the extended Weasley family, particularly Mr and Mrs Weasley, and their home, The Burrow. I love the Weasley’s. They are Harry’s surrogate family, and the Burrow his true home away from Hogwarts. Every page involving the Weasley family conveys the sense of love and support you expect from a family combined with a good healthy dose of chaos (what kind of family isn’t a bit crazy and chaotic).

The second of course is Dobby. That mad, crazy, loyal, and brave little house-elf. Who doesn’t love Dobby? He is without a doubt one of the bravest characters in the entire series, willing to risk everything go hell Harry at great risk to himself long before he even knows Harry. And you can’t help but laugh at him. He comes out with the funniest things. Dobby has to be among everyone’s favourite characters from the series.

Not kill you, sir, never kill you! said Dobby, shocked. ‘Dobby wants to save Harry Potter’s life! Better sent home, grievously wants to save Harry Potter’s life! Dobby only wanted Harry Potter hurt enough to be sent home!

I intent to continue my reread with Prisoner of Azkaban, one of my favourite books in the entire series, towards the end of August or start of September. Anyone who would like to join in a re-read, feel free to join me.

Rating:

5 star

5 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling

Leave a Reply

