The Harry Potter Book Tag

U.K.-Children039s

Today while pursing all the fabulous blogs on here, I came across The Harry Potter Book Tag on It’s All About Books (originally posted on The Worn Bookmark). It seems opportune given I’m currently undertaking a reread of Harry Potter.

The Questions:

Favourite Book?

That’s tough but probably the Goblet of Fire. Its very much the turning point in the series where the children’s element is left behind and everything becomes much darker.

Favourite Movie?

Again Goblet of Fire. The Triwizard tournament really comes to life on the screen. Though I also really enjoyed Prisoner of Azkahban. The kids have really started to find their acting feet (lets face it those first two movies are a little awkward) and their are some great adult performances from Gary Oldman, David Thewlis and Michael Gambon who all joined the cast in that film.

harry-potter-and-the-goblet-of-fire-20051115044926152_640w

harry potter college

Least Favourite Book?

Without a doubt Book 6, the Half-blood Prince. Apart from Dumbledore dying it is very much a filler book, setting up the events of the final book, providing us with all the background information on the Horcruxes. It doesn’t stand up alone as well as the other books.

HP6

Parts of the Books/Movies that made you cry?

Obviously the deaths of any of the major characters, though topping the list would be Dobby’s death (there’s just something about that little house-elf and his unselfish desire to help his friends) and Snape’s death, the knowledge we get too late of who he really was…a good guy all along with his unrequited selfless love of Lily.

dobby and snape

Favourite Character?

It’s a toss up between Hermonie, the bookish girl I could identify with, Mrs Wesley, endlessly loving and not to be messed with and Professor McGonagall, another woman not to be messed with.

harry potter girls

What would your patronus be?

Probably a cat, mainly because I like them.

Persion_patronus_cat

If you could have the Resurrection Stone, the Invisibilty Cloak or the Elder Wand which would you choose?

The Invisibilty Cloak. Its the only one without negative repercussions for the owner, as the other two seem to corrupt the owner or drive them mad. Plus how else are you suppose to have cool adventures at Hogwarts. An Invisibilty Cloak and a Marauders Map are key school equipment.

Cloak-1991

What house would you be in?

According to Pottermore I’m Ravenclaw. The smart ones. I can live with that. Plus Luna is in Ravenclaw and I like Luna.

ravenclaw

If you could meet any member of cast who would it be?

I have alot of respect for Emma Watson and she is great actress so it would be great to meet her, but I think if I had to choose it would be Maggie Smith. I love her both as McGonagall and the Dowager in Downton Abbey, and I suspect she’d be good craic.

maggie-smith-portr_3099628k

If you were on the quidditch team, what position would you be?

Eh the one flying in the opposite direction to the game or more likely the one on the ground with a concussion from a bludger 5 secs into the game. No one in their right mind would let me anywhere near a quidditch team.

Were you happy with the ending?

Overall yes. It felt right. Yes some of our favourite characters died but hey that’s life. It can often be bitter sweet. If it had ended with all the good guys alive and the bad guys dead it wouldn’t have rung true.

IqIpf

How much does Harry mean to you?

How do you even put that into words. I’ve been reading this series since I was 9 and the first book was published. Its one of the defining parts of my childhood. This series and Jane Austen are my comfort books. I refuse to part with my copies and fully intend on passing them onto my own children if I have any. Lets just say a whole f*#king lot, and leave it at that….And thank you JK Rowling for making my childhood.

tumblr_mruap2LR971s6jvbvo1_500

And now to all the Harry Potter fans out there why not join in.

2 thoughts on “The Harry Potter Book Tag

Leave a Reply

