This Week in Books: 29-07-2015

This week in books

This week in books is a weekly meme hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found. It asks what you’ve read recently, what you’re currently reading and what’s at the top of your TBR pile. Taking on a World of Words runs something similar called WWW Wednesday.

What I’ve Read Recently?

Well in the last week I’ve finished the first Harry Potter, which I loved just as much as an adult as I did as a child, and because I had a gap between finishing that and the selection of August’s books for my various bookclubs I picked up The House at the End of Hope Street by Meena Van Pragg, a light summer read I got in the Kindle sale.

hp1

hope street

What I’m Currently Reading?

I am just about to start the first of my August bookclub books, Seek the Fair Land by Walter Macken. It is set during the Cromwellian invasion of Ireland and is one of my quarteryly Irish books for my Irish literature bookclub.

seek the fair land

What I’ll be Reading Next?

It will be another of my August bookclub books, either Company of Liars by Karen Maitland, set during 1348 as the Black Plague sweeps across England it is the tale of a group of travellers trying to outrun it, or All That is Solid Melts into Air by Darren McKeon charts the fall out of the Chernobyl disaster and the fall of the Soviet Union. So lots of historical fiction at the moment. Which I read first will depend on which I’m able to get from the library first. I’m trying to make more use of my library in order to reduce my book buying budget, but my local branch didn’t have either of these books so I’ve ordered them. They are normally fairly quick at getting books in but it depends on their availability within the system.

company of liars

all-that-is-solid-melts-into-air

6 thoughts on “This Week in Books: 29-07-2015

Leave a Reply

