This Week in Books: 22 – 07 – 15

This week in books

This week in books is a weekly meme hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found. It asks what you’ve read recently, what you’re currently reading and what’s at the top of your TBR pile. Taking on a World of Words runs something similar called WWW Wednesday.

What I’ve Read Recently?

Last week I read Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel. There has been a lot of praise for this book and in my mind it is well deserved. I really enjoyed it and would be recommending it to everyone.

station eleven

What I’m Currently Reading?

I am currently reading Ruth by Elizabeth Gaskell. I love Gaskell and while none of her other books have lived up to North and South, overall I enjoy them. Ruth is one of her more social novels, as in it deals with social issues, mainly the concept of the ‘fallen woman’. While I wouldn’t recommend it as an introduction to Gaskell I would recommend it to other Gaskell fans.

9c3ea7b43dbfbb9d5cfc7c6577e2732d

What I’ll be Reading Next?

We are coming to the end of the month which means in the next week or so I’ll have new bookclub books to read. However as I expect to have Ruth finished today and a few days gap, I’m thinking of reading some Harry Potter next. Its been four years since I last read them and feel in need of a reread.

U.K.-Children039s

6 thoughts on “This Week in Books: 22 – 07 – 15

  1. I’ll be reading ‘Station Eleven’ later this year. Good to know you enjoyed it. I hope the HP treats you well. I find they’re always a joy to revisit. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

