The Wonderful Jane Austen

imageJane Austen died today 198 years ago. Now I’ve loved Jane Austen most of my life. There are few authors about whom every single book can be considered works of genius. Most authors will have at least one or two books which are really only a good average. Not so Jane Austen. While undoubtedly some of her books are better than others, each in their own right is brilliant and everyone will have a different favourite. For me it has varied with age. My first love, and indeed first exposure was Pride and Prejudice. As a teenager it was Emma. Now as adult it has to Persuasion. With the benefit of age I can laugh at Emma’s almost childish belief in her own powers of perception or Darcy and Elizabeth’s stubbornness, and I can appreciate the wisdom and self control of Anne Eliot.

Certainly there are few authors have so expertly captured society and its idiosyncrasies. Even now her books can make us laugh and cry in equal measure. This combined with her wit ensure their status as beloved classics.

I leave you with some of my favourite Jane Austen quote. Why not leave a comment with your favourite Austen quote.

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.”

― Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

but for my own part, if a book is well written, I always find it too short.

― Jane Austen

I can listen no longer in silence. I must speak to you by such means as are within my reach. You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope. Tell me not that I am too late, that such precious feelings are gone for ever.

― Jane Austen, Persuasion

Friendship is certainly the finest balm for the pangs of disappointed love.

― Jane Austen

It isn’t what we say or think that defines us, but what we do.”

― Jane Austen, Sense and Sensibility

I always deserve the best treatment because I never put up with any other.

― Jane Austen, Emma

Three cheers for the wonderful Jane Austen.

P.S For anyone interested during August there will be the annual Austen in August read-a-thon hosted by Roof Beam Reader. I’ll certainly be taking part. 

6 thoughts on “The Wonderful Jane Austen

  1. “I do not think I ever opened a book in my life which had not something to say upon woman’s inconstancy. Songs and proverbs, all talk of woman’s fickleness. But perhaps you will say, these were all written by men.”
    “Perhaps I shall. Yes, yes, if you please, no reference to examples in books. Men have had every advantage of us in telling their own story. Education has been theirs in so much higher a degree; the pen has been in their hands. I will not allow books to prove anything.” – Persuasion ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been on exactly the same Austen journey! I sill love them all, but now I’m older my favourite is Persuasion. I also appreciate the complexity of the themes in Mansfield Park (such as the estate being financed through slavery) a lot more than I did when I first read it. She certainly was a genius. At them moment I’m trying to make some big changes so the quote I’ll pick is “None of us want to be in calm waters all our lives.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mansfield Park use to be my least favourite with the result I’d only read it the once until this year. On my reread recently though it really grew on me. I can definitely appreciate it much more now then I did as a teenager. It’s still not my favourite but its definitely sitting more around the middle if I was forced to rank them.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So many quotes to choose from. I’m loving all the quotes you’ve all posted which I’d completely forgotten about when I was writing the post. Though if I’d included every quote I love the post would have been nearly the entire text of all her books. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

