This Week in Books: 08-07-2015

This week in books

This week in books is a weekly meme hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found. It asks what you’ve read recently, what you’re currently reading and what’s at the top of your TBR pile. Taking on a World of Words runs something similar called WWW Wednesday.

What I’ve Read Recently?

Over the weekend I read Mr Penumbra’s 24-hr Bookstore by Robin Sloan. A deceptively easy book with some hidden messages about life.

penumbra

What I’m Currently Reading?

After some deliberation about what to read next, I decided on Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. This book has been popping up all over the blogasphere and it’s easy to see why. I’m about 100 pages in and really enjoying it. It flicks between roughly the present and 20 years into the future. This is old school dystopian fiction, mass epidemic which wipes out half the population and a future with a scattered population and no modern conveniences. In other words a dystopian future which seems entirely possible which tend to make the best books.

station eleven

What I’ll be Reading Next?

I’m not entirely sure yet. I’m aiming to read one classic a month so I think next it will be my classic for July. I’m thinking Ruth by Elizabeth Gaskell, which is the last of my Christmas books.

7 thoughts on “This Week in Books: 08-07-2015

  1. I loved ‘Mr. Penumbra!’ Glad you enjoyed it as well. I’ll be reading Station Eleven in the near future for my book clubs. Glad to hear it’s gripping. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

