Weekend Reading Plans: 17-4-15

my weekend reading

Thank god it’s the weekend. It has been a long and busy week. I knew it was going to be. So I’m very glad the weekend is here.

tell-the-wolves-im-home-978144720214101This week I’ve been reading Tell the Wolves I‘m home by Carol Rifka Brunt. In a quieter week I’d probably have finished it. It’s a fairly quick read. I’m really enjoying it. The overall plot is fairly simple. Outsider teenager loses her beloved uncle, the one person who understood. On the surface it’s the classic teenage coming of age tale. However it really manages to cram in the themes. Grief, sibling relationships, family dynamics in general and 80s AIDS crisis. I suspect I will finish it this weekend.

Terry_Pratchett_Dodger_coverDepending on how things are going I may start Dodger by Terry Pratchett, which finally arrived the other day. I haven’t read much Pratchett. I’ve read Good Omens which I loved, and Hogfather which I enjoyed. Dodger was recommended to me by some Pratchett fans. It sounds right up my street. Elements of historical fiction with a nod to the classics.

How about you? What are you reading this weekend? Leave a comment below.

Leave a Reply

