Weekend Reading Review: 06-04-15

my weekend reading
Its been a busy and productive long weekend. With little else to do, other than eat chocolate, I was able to finish 3 books.

imageFirst up was How to Be Both by Ali Smith, winner of the Costa Award for Fiction. A commentary on the perception of art, it was an interesting book, for the structure if nothing else. However, while I enjoyed the two sections in isolation, I never fell in love with the book. The spark was missing. Overall I felt it was trying to hard to convey its message…trying to hard to be clever.

imageA new month means a new bookclub selection, and this month one of my groups is reading All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. This is a book which seems to be everywhere recently. Set during World War 2, it was a compelling and easy read. I couldn’t put it down, reading it in 24 hours straight. As we head towards holiday seasons, its definitely one I would recommend for anyone looking for a nice holiday read.

Foxglove-Summer1Rounding off the weekend was Foxglove Summer by Ben Aaronovitch, the latest book in the Peter Grant book. Its a breather book by which I mean its a book in the series where the author takes a break from main story arc of the series to give everyone a breather before launching into what may be a long drawn out plot line. As a result it allows for more character development, probably for the first time since the first book in the series, Rivers of London. Sadly now I’m fully caught up with the series. I’m going to have to find a new series to read when I want some easy escapism.

What did you read this Easter Weekend? Leave a comment below.

Leave a Reply

