Broken Homes by Ben Aaronovitch 

WARNING: MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

IMG_0105Peter Grant and Co are back and hot on the trail of the Faceless Man. This time Peter and Lesley must go under cover on a Council estate which may have been built by a wizard architect.

It’s hard to know what to say about this book. We are 4 books in and it’s hard to find things to say without giving away spoilers. For the first approximately 3/4 of the book it was entirely consistent with the other books. Magic, sexual tension, Peter being a bit of an idiot and ending up in trouble. However towards the end there is a major plot twist (I’ll be discussing this in a few moments safely below Spoiler Alert in big letters). I can safely say without giving anything away that I definitely did not see it coming and it lifts the book far above the level of the previous books in the series.
Rating: 5/5
OK onto the big twist.
MAJOR SPOILER ALERT
TURN BACK NOW
I’M SERIOUS. TURN BACK NOW

Ok if your sure.

We good. Right.

Oh my god. WTF. I’m traumatised. LESLEY MAY HAS JOINED THE FACELESS MAN!!!!

I haven’t felt this betrayed by a character since Snape killed Dumbledore. Actually this is worse because let’s face it no one ever really trusted Snape. But Lesley!!! She seemed firmly in the good guys camp.

I don’t how I’m going to get over this. Aaronovitch better know what he’s doing that’s all I’ll say.

One thought on “Broken Homes by Ben Aaronovitch 

Leave a Reply

