Liebster Award

liebster2

Thanks to Josh Hart of Been There, Read That for nominating me for the Liebster Award. The idea behind this award is to promote new and obscure blogs, to help them gain followers and readers.

Here are the rules for this award:

  1. Link back to the person who nominated you.
  2. Answer 11 questions from the individual who nominated you.
  3. Nominate 11 new bloggers (with under 200 followers) and come up with your own 11 questions. You cannot nominate the person who nominated you.
  4. Inform your nominee on being nominated

So my answers to the questions

1. Books are full of memorable quotes: which one is your favourite?

This is tough but I think its got to be:

‘Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.’ – Albus Dumbledore, Prisoner of Azkaban

That Dumbledore was pretty wise.

2. Out of all the fictional characters we’ve read about, there are plenty that we can all relate to; but which one do you relate to most?

I can’t pick just one so I’m going to say Anne Eliot (Persuasion by Jane Austen), Jane Eyre (Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte) and Margaret Hale (North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell). None of them may save the world but they all have a lot to put up with, and things they must overcome in order to be happy. They are also all smart and strong women.

3. Speaking of characters: who is your number one?

Exact same answer as question number two. I can’t choose just one.

4. You know all of those characters you love? if they were real, who would you most like to date?

I’m a bit of a Jane Austen fan, and there is no shortage of eligible men in her books, none of whom I’d be turning my nose up at. However my first preference would be Captain Wentworth (Persuasion by Jane Austen) because of the love letter he writes to Anne. It is without a doubt the greatest love letter in literature. Now if only I could find a man who wrote me letters like that.

5. What do you feel is the best book->movie adaptation?

The Commitments by Roddy Doyle. A rare instance when I would actually say the film is better than the book.

6. What book or book series would you like to become a movie?

I’ve been loving the Peter Grant series by Ben Aaronovitch. Enjoyable nonsense which I would love to see adapted to a tv series or film.

7. If you were zapped into Middle-Earth, which race would you like to become?

Elf of course. Beautiful, and live forever. They just seem to lounge around half the time reading, drinking wine and telling stories.

8. Come, tell us a story! How did you first get into reading?

I can’t remember a time when I didn’t read so I don’t have an interesting story of how I got into reading. I was always encouraged to read. My parents read to me from a young age and brought me to the library. I had my own library card by the time I was 3.

9. E-books, paperbacks, or hardbacks?

I read all formats. There is an undeniable convenience to e-books. An e-reader takes up very little space and weights so much less than a book in my bag.  I spend a lot of time on public transport, and my bag already has everything bar the kitchen sink in it so space and weight are an important consideration. However if convenience wasn’t a factor then I prefer physical books. I’ve no particular preference for paperbacks over hardbacks. I like pretty books, so with a physical book it’ll come down to which I think looks nicer.

10. How many books do you think you’ve read in your entire life? Go on, take a guess!

On the basis I read over 50 books last year I would estimate somewhere between 800 and 1000, given I’ve been reading independently for approximately 20 years

11. As we have all probably though about this: if you could have saved one character in Harry Potter, who would it be and why?

Easy. Snape. He spends so much of the series in a suspicious and then evil light, yet everything he did was all part of the plan and to help Harry. He never gets a chance to see the fruits of all his sacrifices or to see his reputation restored. And he does it all out of love for Lily. He is also probably the most complex and interesting character in the series, as he can’t be easily classified as good or evil and is clearly deeply conflicted.

Now for my nominations. I nominate:

Akylina of The Literary Sisters

My Book Strings

Oh2bhuman

My Cafe Au Livre

Anyone else who wants to (just remember to link me)

The questions:

  1. What are your 5 desert island book picks?
  2. Which character would you most like to date and why?
  3. You’re hosting a dinner party. Which authors living or dead would you invite?
  4. Which character would you most like to be like?
  5. If you were only allowed read one more book, what would it be and why?
  6. If you could change the ending of any book, what would it be and how would you change it?
  7. Which character can you not stand?
  8. Have you ever given up on a book, abandoning it half way through? What was it and why did you give up?
  9. If you could save one Harry Potter character who would it be and why?
  10. When you’ve finished a book what do you do with it? Keep it? Donate it? Pass it on to a friend?
  11. Which book would you class among your prized possessions? It doesn’t need to be your favourite book in terms of story. Perhaps its just a really nice edition of a book or one you got signed by the author. 

I look forward to reading your answers.

Leave a Reply

