Reading Ireland Month Recap

image

Well Reading Ireland Month 2015 is over. (Three cheers for 746 Books and The Fluff is Raging for all their work). It has certainly helped push me to make a dent in my Irish to read pile.

Over the course of the month I’ve read a range of books covering different genres, and about 100 years of Irish history from 1916 and the Easter Rising, to 2016 and a fictional tribunal. I’ve explore rural Ireland both historically in The Poor Mouth and The Country Girls, and modern rural Ireland in Young Skins. I’ve also discovered my own city Dublin at various periods from the rubble of the Easter Rising in Fallen to the ruins of the Celtic Tiger in The Devil I Know. I have sampled the works of a classic Irish author in Flann O’Brien, on whom I undecided, and discovered writes I intend to read more of such as Edna O’Brien, John Connolly, Claire Kilroy and Colin Barrett.

All in all a successful month. I look forward to doing it all again next year.

One thought on “Reading Ireland Month Recap

Leave a Reply

