Weekend Reading Review: 17-3-15

my weekend readingLá Fhéile Pádraig Sona Daoibh. Happy St Patrick’s Day. Which for me means a day off. Yay reading time.

An-Officer-and-a-SpyIts been a pretty productive weekend for me in terms of reading. I finished An Officer and a Spy, which knowing nothing about the Dreyfus affair I really enjoyed.

imageI also read my second Reading Ireland selection, The Country Girls by Edna O’Brien. The portrayal of the relationship between the two girls and the problems imagethey face are as recognisable and identifiable today as when it was first published.

Continuing with my Reading Ireland challenge I’m switching to a modern writer though not a modern setting with Fallen by Lia Mills. Set in the period between the outbreak of World War 1 and the Easter Rising it follows the story of Katie, trying to find her place at a time of great social and political upheaval in Ireland. I’ve only just started ita but so day I’m really enjoying it.

Enjoy your St Patrick’s Day.

Leave a Reply

