Weekend Reading Review – 02/03/15

I know I’m a day late. It seems to have been that kind of weekend where I just didn’t have enough time for anything, though what I was actually doing I don’t know. Unsurprisingly on a weekend where I seem to have been very busy doing something (?) I didn’t get much reading done.

I did make reasonable progress on The Mill on the Floss. I’m now about half way through. I’m enjoying it. The depiction of childhood and sibling relationships is wonderful. Its not all ‘happy clappy’ but its not totally dysfunctional either. Its normal. Tom is your average boy who doesn’t really see the point of a sister. Maggie is too smart for her own good and always up to mischief. She reminds me of Anne Shirley (Anne of Green Gables), particularly during a memorable scene where she [Maggie] cuts off all her hair in a temper.

I have made no progress on Great Expectations, mainly because I just wasn’t doing much of the kind of things where I listen to an audiobook, and when I was I listened to music. Oh well, I’ve 3 reports to write this week in work, maybe I’ll manage to listen to some of it then. It can tune out the normal office din. 🙂

How was your reading weekend?

One thought on “Weekend Reading Review – 02/03/15

  1. Busy weekends may not be good for getting much reading done, but I think it’s okay to take it slow once in a while 🙂 It’s great to hear you’re enjoying ‘The Mill on the Floss’ – I’m hoping to get to it this year too.

    I managed to finish 2 review copies this weekend and Margaret Atwood’s ‘Alias Grace’ which I had started in the beginning of February. I usually never get so much reading done during the weekend, so I’m thoroughly satisfied with my progress, since February had been a rather slow reading month 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

