My Weekend Reading Review: 16/2/2015

my weekend readingWhy do the weekends always go so fast? Seems like only a few hours ago I was looking forward to all I would read over the weekend, and now here we are again..Monday morning.

It was a pretty good weekend from a bookish perspective. On my way home on Friday a visit to a bookshop resulted in a major book buying spree (details here). Needless to say my bank account is on a book buying diet for the next few weeks. Friday and Saturday were spent reading Persuasion by Jane Austen. I’ve read this book more times then I count and everytime I fall in love with it more and more.

On Sunday I started into The International by Glenn Patterson for one of my bookclubs. I’m about a third of the way in and I’m really enjoying it. My perception of Northern Irish literature is that its quite dark. This however is light and funny, albeit set against an increasingly dark backdrop. The main characters comments on the hotel were he works, the staff and the customers are witty and relatable. Its not overly long and time permitting I suspect I’ll finish it quite quickly.

Leave a Reply

