Book buying splurge

So on Friday on my way home from work I decided to drop into the largest independent bookshop in Dublin. I was looking for a copy of The Country Girls by Enda O’Brian and they have a huge second hand section where I thought I might find a copy. They didn’t but they had lots of other books. The end result was a book buying binge of the kind I haven’t done in a while.

My purchases included:

imageBleak House by Charles Dickens (the nice penguin clothbound version which matches some other classics I have)

Love and Friendship by Jane Austen (also a penguin clothbound version, completing my Austen set)

Moon over Soho (which I’ve already read but didn’t have a physical copy of) and Whispers Under Ground (the next in the series) by Ben Aaronovitch

The Third Policeman by Flann O’Brien (a classic of Irish literature which a number of people I know loved)

When I got home, since my initial quest was unsuccessful, I proceeded to order a copy of The Country Girls from a second hand seller, and while I was at it got The Poor Mouth by Flann O’Brien (it was the same seller so I was saving on postage, how could I turn that up).

Needless to say I shall be on a book buying diet for a while until my bank account recovers and to read pile (mountain) is back under control.

How about you? Bought anything good recently.

5 thoughts on “Book buying splurge

  1. Good work! I have a ridiculous stash of books to read at the moment. Recent buys include Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey, and a load of ebooks – Smoke Is Rising by Mahesh Rao, Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng, The Children Act by Ian McEwan…. and loads more. No idea how I’ll ever get through them all!

    Like

  2. Oh, how fun! I can’t resist a good book deal… and in fact, I was hoping to find time to swing by my favorite used book store later this week. I hope you enjoy all your wonderful new books!

    Like

Leave a Reply

