This Week in Books – 11/02/15

This week in booksThis week in books is a weekly meme hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found, where you post what you’ve read this week, what you’re reading and what you’ll read next.

the undertaking imageWhat I’ve Read:

Over the weekend I finished Travels with Charley by John Steinbeck (review here) for one bookclub and also read The Undertaking by Audrey Magee, for another bookclub (review to come, but it was a 4/5 for me).

rainey royalWhat I’m Reading:

Since I’m up to date with my monthly bookclub reads I decided to read one of my Christmas books which I’ve been dying to get to, Rainey Royal by Dylan Landis. It’s not a long book so shouldn’t take long to finish. I’m not sure if its intended as young adult, adult or crossover. It’s a coming of age tale, and so far I can say that Rainey is a truly messed up teenager, even by the standards of coming of age tales.

the internationaldraculaWhat I’ll read next:

Up next is The International by Glenn Patterson, a Northern Irish writer. It is one of the quarterly reads for one of my bookclubs. It should be interesting, as while I read a fair bit of Irish literature, Northern Irish literature is a niche which I’m not that familiar with. It is set just at the beginning of the civil rights movement in the North in January 1967, a movement which in time would become The Troubles. The other quarterly read is Dracula by Bram Stoker which I studied in college so probably won’t reread, though I may give the free audiobook (available from Librivox) a go.

One thought on “This Week in Books – 11/02/15

Leave a Reply

