My Weekend Reading Review: 9/2/15

my weekend readingSo despite a quite busy weekend I actually got a lot of reading done this weekend.
I finished Travels with Charley: In Search of America for one bookclub. I’m not a huge John Steinbeck fan but it was an interesting read. You can read my full review here, but in summary I would class it as the philosophical musings of Steinbeck on what he perceives to be the state of America. My overwhelming sense was of a man who is fears and doesn’t understand the modern world emerging in 1960.
I also started and made significant inroads, reaching approximately the half way point, of The Undertaking by Audrey Magee, which is my monthly read for a different bookclub. So far it’s an interesting, enjoyable, quick read. In many respects it’s your standard WW2 love story, however it’s sets in Germany and shows the war from a German perspective. It provides an interesting additional layer to the story. We are use to such stories being told from an Allied perspective. In this case you know there is even less chance of this ending well for the characters involved because they are on the losing side. I suspect I’ll have it finished in a few days.
How was your reading weekend? Start or finish an interesting book? Pick up any interesting titles?

Leave a Reply

