My Weekend Reading Plans: 6/2/2015

my weekend readingWell another week is over and the weekend is here. Time to decide what I’ll be reading this weekend.

It’s unlikely I’ll get much reading done this weekend. It’s my birthday soon and I’ll be going out to celebrate. Also my sister is home from China so lots of family stuff on. However in whatever free moments I have I’ll be finishing Travels with Charley by John Steinbeck. This is the monthly selection for one of my book clubs. It’s non fiction but it’s hard to classify what genre of non fiction it belongs to. It’s not a biography or memoir. It recounts Steinbeck’s journey across America with his dog Charley. It’s not a travel book though. The best description is it’s basically the philosophical musings of Steinbeck on America. I’m not entirely sure what I make of it.

Once I finish Travels with Charley (which considering I’ve about an hour left in it I should) I’ll be starting the monthly selection for my other book club, The Awakening by Audrey Magee. From what I can gather it’s a love story about two people during WW2. Unusually though they are German not from one of the Allied powers which is the perspective we are use to. I believe it also explores their feelings as ordinary Germans on everything that happens especially as the war comes to an end. It should be an interesting read.

What are you reading at the moment? What are planning on reading this weekend?

One thought on “My Weekend Reading Plans: 6/2/2015

  1. Your weekend sounds lovely!
    I’m planning on reading as much of Virginia Woolf’s biography by Hermione Lee as I can, and hopefully Bid Me to Live by H.D if I get the time. I’m also working both days, so we’ll see!

    Like

Leave a Reply

