My Weekend Reading Review: 2/02/15

my weekend readingWell I had quite the successful weekend of reading. I had hoped to finish Bleak House which I’ve been reading for the past few weeks, and I did. (You can check out my review here). In brief though, despite not being a big Dickens fan I really enjoyed it. Reading it is a bit like reading a Victorian soap, which considering Dickens often published in serial it kinda was. There are a huge host of characters with separate plot lines which often intersect and overlap. It’s a book which demands your concentration.

I also managed to start my bookclub selection for February, Travels with Charley by John Steinbeck. It is the closest thing Steinbeck ever came to writing a biography and recounts a journey he took across America when he was nearly 60 to rediscover his native land, accompanied by only his french poodle Charley. It’s too early yet to say what I’m making of it.

How was your reading weekend?

One thought on “My Weekend Reading Review: 2/02/15

Leave a Reply

