Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 releases I didn’t get a chance to read

image

This weeks Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by Broke and Bookish, is on books released in 2014 you didn’t get a chance to read and hope to read this year. I don’t have a full list of 10 but 2014 releases I hope to read this year are:

1. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
One of the most popular books of last year and set during World War 2 it tells the story of Marie Laurie, a blind girl, living in occupied France and Werner, a German orphan boy with a skill for fixing radios which drafts him into Hitlers Army.

2. How to be Both by Ali Smith
Recent winner of the Costa Award for Best Novel it is about the versatility of art and how we view things. It is told in two parts, one set in the 1960s and the other set in the 1460s. Two version have been published, one in which the modern section comes first, and one where the historic section is first. The idea being which version you read will determine your reading of the story.

3. Fallen by Lia Mills
Part of a trance of books which will be published over the next few years set during the period 1914 – 1918. Set in 1916 in Dublin around the Easter Rising it follows Katie, who’s brother is fighting on the Western Front, during a turning point in Irish History.

4. The Bloodied Field by Michael Foley
The surprise run away hit of Christmas, it was sold out in every bookshop in Ireland. Set on the 21st November 1920 it is a fictionalised account of a day which would become known as Bloody Sunday (one of many such days by that name in Irish history) when the Black and Tans (Bristish Army posted in Ireland during the War of Independence) stormed Croke Park during a GAA match to break up a meeting of the Michael Collins men and opened fire on the crowd.

5. The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion
The sequel to the wonderful Rosie Project we see the loveable Don Tillman struggle with married life and and impending fatherhood.

6. Academy Street by Mary Costello
Winner of the xxxx, it is a story common in Irish literature, that of the Irish diaspora. Spanning 6 decades it follows one woman, Tess, from her childhood in 1940s rural Ireland to life as an immigrant in New York

7. Rainey Royal by Dylan Landis
One of my Christmas books, it is the tale of 14 year old Rainey Royal growing up in 1970s bohemian Greenwich Village with an absent mother and former jazz musician father.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 releases I didn’t get a chance to read

  1. I still need to read All the Light We Cannot See as well. My book group just picked it for July, so maybe I’ll wait til then — and at least if it’s for book group, I’ll have a deadline and motivation to finally start it. I’d be interested to hear what you think of The Rosie Effect. I read it, and didn’t especially love it, which is too bad since The Rosie Project was one of my favorite books. Looks like a great list — I hope you find time for all of these!

    Like

  2. I really need to get to THE ROSIE EFFECT this year. I’ve heard so many great things about it! I got about halfway through ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE. The writing is lovely, but it get too dull for me. Maybe I’ll pick it up again and finish, maybe not.

    Happy TTT!

    Like

  3. “All the Light We Cannot See” is on my list too! I actually had it checked out from the library at one point but had to take it back. Another book on my list is “The Rosie Project,” so you’re ahead of me there! “How to Be Both” sounds really interesting — I like the idea of the dual versions. I might have to check it out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

