Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

imageApparently I have been nominated for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award (Thank you A House of Books).

The rules are:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site
  • Put the award logo on your blog
  • Answer the ten questions they’ve set you
  • Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer
  • Nominate ten people

Here are the questions A House of Books asked me:

1. Did you make any New Year Resolutions, and if so what were they?

My New Years Resolutions, at least the ones relating to reading, are to read 60 books this year and read at least 1 classic a month. I wrote a blog about it the other day which you can read here.

2. If you could only read one book in 2015, what would it be?

I’m taking this to mean what book I’m most looking forward to reading this year. I don’t plan my reading for the year. I tend to just read whatever I’m in the mood for in the moment. However as part of my resolution to read more classics I’m planning on reading The Mill on the Floss by George Eliot. I’m looking forward to exploring Eliot so I’ll say that’s the book I would read if I could only read one book in 2015.

3. What book do you hate, that everyone else seems to like?

Wuthering Heights. I know its a classic but I can’t stand it. I had to study it in school which is a sure fire way to make a person hate a book. I hate Cathy. I’d love to get my hands on her and knock some sense into her. If ever there was a character who deserves a good kick up the arse its Cathy.

4. What is the one genre of book you least like?

Horror. I don’t do scary/creepy books (or films for that matter).

5. If you could go anywhere in the world with one book, where would you go and what book would you take with you?

The place I’d go would be Paris. I was there once a number of years ago but not for nearly long enough. I’m dying to go back and explore properly. The book I’d take would be Persuasion by Jane Austen. I know it has nothing to do with Paris but I love Austen and it’s my current favourite of her books. Besides it is about true love which seems fitting for the city of love.

6. Where is your favourite place to read?

Currently my bed, however I aspire to one day having a cosy corner with a comfy chair I can curl up in to read.

7. What is the one book you have never read, but really feel you should?

Ulysses. I’m a Dubliner, a bookworm, and hold a degree in English yet I’ve never read the masterpiece of my city’s most famous writer. I was suppose to in college. I tried but gave up and got through the exam by using Joyce’s other works which I have read. I believe the best way to read it is out loud or failing that as an audiobook. I may try the audiobook version at some point. It may be a bit less daunting.

8. Where do you get your books from – your local bookshop, online, charity shop, library?

I read a combination of eBooks and physical books. The eBooks I obviously have to buy online. In the case of physical books I tend to get them from various local bookshops. Personal favourites are Chapters, Hodges Figgis and The Gutter Bookshop.

9. If you had to have a week without books, what would you fill that time with?

Who ever has a week without books? The only reason I’d have a week without books is if I’m so busy in work I have no time to read and am too tired, in which case the time would be filled with work and sleep.

Hypothetically though if I had a week without books, not due to work, I’d probably be doing something extremely girly like baking or knitting since that tends to be what I do to relax other then read.

10. What book are you reading right now?

Us by David Nicholls. Its the selection for my in person book club this month.

The bloggers I’m going to nominate are:

Paperback Heart

Macarons & Paperbacks

booksandopinions.com

bookarahma

Dawn of Books

Shari L. Tapscott

Anne-thology of Books

thegirlinthebookstore

The Obessive Booksteller

Lost in a Great Book

The questions I’m going to ask are:

1. Why do you enjoy blogging?

2. What was your favourite book as a child and why?

3. Who encouraged you to read?

4. What book have you read which had a profound effect on you?

5. Where is your favourite place to read?

6. Where do you like to get your books from?

7. What is your least favourite genre?

8. Have you ever abandoned a book? If so what was it and why did you give up?

9. You’re stranded on a desert island, what 5 books would you bring with you and why?

10. What are you currently reading?

5 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. Yay thank you so much for taking the time to answer my questions – I really enjoyed reading your answers.
    Strangely enough I was forced to read Wuthering Heights for school too – but I loved it! Which is especially strange as I generally don’t like the classics at all.
    I also hate the idea of a week without books – nightmare!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel the same about Cathy! Heathcliff I can understand, but she was such a total bitch just for the sake of it!
    I don’t do scary movies either… way too chicken. I love ghost stories but not horror, I don’t like gore for the sake of being gruesome… makes me wonder who could think up some of the stuff in horror!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really enjoyed this – interesting idea, questions and answers which mad me laugh out loud at one point! My only quibble is Q3 – Angel Clare in Tess of D’Urbervilles is much more deserving of a kick up the arse than Cathy!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

