New Years Reading Resolutions

imageWith the New Year almost upon us it’s time to start thinking about our New Years resolutions. Since it is the question posed by Broke and Bookish this week I thought I may as well post my resolutions today.

I don’t have 10 resolutions for 2015 connected to reading. I’m not sure I have 10 period and I see no point telling you about how I intend to eat headliner or go to the gym more. And let’s be honest I’ll probably have broken both resolutions by January 2nd, most likely in favour of curling up with a book, a decent mug of tea and whatever’s left of the Christmas chocolates or biscuits. My reading resolutions, I hope, are more likely to survive for longer the then first 24hrs of the New Year.

My main resolution is to read more books. I know what a surprising resolution for a bookworm. I started using Goodreads last April and set my reading challenge at 40. I have read 50, meaning I’ve averaged over a book a week. I estimate I read about 1.5 books per week. My goal for next year is 60 which seems achievable based on this years reading rate. It will require me to average 1.2 books per week. This allows some leeway as inevitably there will be weeks where stuff comes up and I don’t get as much reading done.

I know some people like to draw up lists of books they intend to read over the course of the year. Personally I can’t do that. I prefer to pick my books as I go along depending on what mood I’m in. However I do intend to try work my way through my existing books before buying more books.

Finally I’m going to attempt to read at least one classic per month. I will however be using a pretty loose definition of classic. I’ll be applying the term to the traditional older predominantly 19th century texts as one would expect but also to modern classics from the early to mid 20th century. In particular I intend to try read some of the classics if Irish literature such as Flann O’Brien and Edna O’Brien both of who’s work dates from about the mid 20th century.

A number of people in one of my bookclubs have also indicated a desire to read more classics so we’ve established a buddy read of 5 classics to help people along. The 5 books chosen are:
1. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
2. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
3. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by CS Lewis
4. The Mill on the Floss by George Eliot
5. A Passage to India by EM Forster

I have previously read the first three books, the remaining two however I’ve never read and will for part of my personal classics challenge.

What are your New Years reading resolutions?

Happy New Year!!

One thought on “New Years Reading Resolutions

Leave a Reply

